parallax background
 

MAQUI BERRY

Exotic superfruit from the Patagonian primeval forests

The Maqui berry - a superfruit from Patagonia.


The Maqui berry (Aristotelia chilensis), also called Chilean grape or Queldón, thrives excellently in the climatically extreme highlands of the Andes, in the border region of Chile and Argentina - more precisely in Patagonia.

Already with the natives of Patagonia the purple Maqui berry , which grows on a two to four meter high tree and resembles optically our European blueberry, is considered for centuries as welfare plant. The Mapuche Indians drank the juice obtained from the purple berries because of its strengthening effect.

The Maqui berry is said to strengthen the resistance of the body, promote energy and reduce weight. The purple berry also has a positive effect on the musculoskeletal system, the cardiovascular system and the skin and mucous membranes.

Antioxidants are said to combat free radicals, which are caused by environmental pollution and damage our cells, and may even repair damage that has already been done.

Like the pomegranate, the acai berry and the goji berry, the maqui berry is also one of the superfruits. It is extremely rich in antioxidants and is therefore used by body-conscious people as a food supplement . Their ORAC value, which determines the antioxidative ability, exceeds the values of the superfruits known so far by a multiple.

Maqui Berry - The facts at a glance:

  • Fruit with the highest level of antioxidants in the world.
  • Neutralizes free radicals
  • Promotes endurance and strength
  • Rich in vitamin C as well as iron, potassium and calcium
  • Strengthens bones and joints
  • Supports skin and mucous membranes
  • The Maqui berry is still relatively unknown in Europe despite its abundance of minerals, polyphenols, such as anthocyanins and dolphins as well as the important vitamins A, C and D.

    The berries are also difficult to store, which makes transport to Europe more difficult. By further processing the Maqui Beere their extract can, however, be processed very well in food supplements and can thus also enrich the European diet.

    English

parallax background
 

MAQUI BEERE

Exotische Superfrucht aus den Urwäldern Patagoniens.

Die Maqui Beere – eine Superfrucht aus Patagonien.


Die Maqui Beere (Aristotelia chilensis), auch chilenische Weinbeere oder Queldón genannt, gedeiht hervorragend im klimatisch extremen Hochland der Anden, im Grenzgebiet von Chile und Argentinien - genauer gesagt in Patagonien.

Bereits bei den Ureinwohnern Patagoniens gilt die lila Maqui Beere, die an einem zwei bis vier Meter hohen Baum wächst und optisch unserer europäischen Heidelbeere ähnelt, seit Jahrhunderten als Heilpflanze. Die Mapuche Indianer tranken den aus den lila Beeren gewonnenen Saft, aufgrund seiner stärkenden Wirkung.

Die Maqui Beere soll unter anderem die Widerstandsfähigkeit des Körpers stärken, die Energie fördern und das Gewicht reduzieren. Ebenso soll die lila Beere einen positiven Effekt auf den Bewegungsapparat, das Herz-Kreislauf-System sowie die Haut und Schleimhäute haben.

Antioxidantien wird nachgesagt, dass sie freie Radikale, die z.B. durch Umweltbelastung entstehen und unsere Zellen schädigen, bekämpfen und unter Umständen sogar bereits entstandene Schäden wieder gut machen können.

Ebenso wie der Granatapfel, die Acai- und die Goji-Beere, zählt auch die Maqui Beere zu den Superfrüchten. Sie ist außerordentlich reich an Antioxidantien und wird daher von körperbewussten Menschen gerne zur Nahrungsergänzung eingesetzt. Ihr ORAC Wert, der die antioxidative Fähigkeit ermittelt, übersteigt die Werte der bisher bekannten Superfrüchten um ein Vielfaches.

Maqui Beere – Die Fakten im Überblick:

  • Frucht mit dem höchsten Wert an Antioxidantien der Welt
  • Neutralisiert Freie Radikale
  • Fördert Ausdauer und Stärke
  • Reich an Vitamin C sowie Eisen, Kalium und Calcium
  • Stärkt die Knochen und Gelenke
  • Unterstützt Haut und Schleimhäute
  • Die Maqui Beere ist trotz ihres Reichtums an Mineralien, Polyphenolen, wie z.B. Anthocyanen und Delphindinen sowie den wichtigen Vitaminen A, C und D in Europa noch relativ unbekannt.

    Die Beeren lassen sich zudem schlecht lagern, was einen Transport nach Europa erschwert. Durch die Weiterverarbeitung der Maqui Beere lässt sich ihr Extrakt jedoch sehr gut in Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln verarbeiten und kann somit auch den europäischen Speiseplan bereichern.

    Deutsch